Established in 1952 on Key Biscayne – an area famous for pirate, Native American and lighthouse tales – St. Agnes Parish initially served only three dozen families. The first Masses were celebrated on Mashta Point in a desolate home previously owned by the Matheson family and renovated by the Mackle family.
On dark, rainy days, worshipers used flashlights to follow the services in their missals. The Mackle brothers, who were prominent Key Biscayne developers, donated the present property to the parish. It was named in honor of Saint Agnes, their mother’s patron saint.
On Easter Day, 1954, about seventy-five families celebrated the first Mass in the present church. In 1959, the parish grew rapidly with the arrival of Cuban refugees. A school was established, as well as a parish council, charismatic prayer groups and outreach ministries.
Over the years, the school was greatly expanded and the Blessed Sacrament Chapel was built, affording the faithful the blessing of perpetual adoration.
Today, St. Agnes is a vibrant community of faith, with people from all parts of the world worshipping together and relying on each other as brothers and sisters in Christ.